Association for Written Language and Literacy

AWLL members


AWLL members are listed alphabetically based on family names.
Member information includes postal address, telephone number(s), email address, website, languages (native language marked with *), and research interests.

AWLL members are requested to notify the AWLL secretary, Martin Neef (martin.neef@tu-bs.de), whenever their information changes, so that these records may be updated.


Berman, Ruth A.
Member of editorial board of Written Language and Literacy
Linguistics Department, Tel Aviv University, Ramat Aviv, Israel 69978
+972 (0)3 6967470; +972 (0) 3 6405091
rberman@post.tau.ac.il
website
Hebrew, English*
Later language development, discourse analysis, genres, first language acquisition, complex syntax, structure of Modern Hebrew (lexicon, syntax, morphology)
Cahill, Lynne
AWLL vice-president
School of English, Arts B, University of Sussex, Falmer, Brighton, BN1 9QN, UK
office +44 1273 678975; fax +44 1273 678434
L.J.Cahill@sussex.ac.uk
website
English*, German, Dutch, Arabic
Relationship between orthography, phonology and morphology, lexicons, variant spelling (ancient and modern), transliteration
Colomo, Katarina
Bergische Universität Wuppertal, Fachbereich A, Germanistik - Linguistik, Gaußstr. 20, D-40119 Wuppertal, Germany
+49 202 439-3130
colomo@uni-wuppertal.de
website
German*, English
Fuhrhop, Nanna
Institut für Germanistik, Carl Von Ossietzky, Universität Oldenburg, Ammerlander Heerstr. 114-118, 26111, Oldenburg, Germany
+49(0) 441 798-2348; fax: +49(0) 441 798-2953
nanna.fuhrhop@uni-oldenburg.de
German*, English, French, (Dutch)
Hamann, Silke
University of Amsterdam, Spuistraat 210, 1012 VT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31-20-525 2194
silke.hamann@uva.nl
website
German*, English, Dutch
Phonetics-phonology interface, formal model of speech perception, formal model of reading
Honda, Keisuke
Department of English and Modern Languages, Oxford Brookes University, Gipsy Lane, Oxford OX3 0BP, United Kingdom
kdhonda@gmail.com
website
Japanese*
Modern Japanese writing system; Language-writing interface
Jiménez Naharro, Magdalena
Via Ostiense 131/L 00154 - Rome
+39-06-57332068; fax: +39-06-57332079
magdalena.jimenez@uniroma3.it
website
Spanish*, English, French, Italian, German
didactics of Spanish as L2, psycholinguistics, cognitive psychology, bilingualism, plurilingualism, the writing process, syntactic interface, phraseology, the CLIL approach, and the psychoanalytic approach to art and esthetics
Joyce, Terry
AWLL president; Member of editorial board of Written Language and Literacy
School of Global Studies, Tama University, 802 Engyo, Fujisawa-shi, Kanagawa-ken, 252-0805, Japan
+81-(0)466-21-7735
terry@tama.ac.jp
website
English*, Japanese
Japanese writing system, visual word recognition, Japanese mental lexicon, compound words, writing systems typology
Kim, Jeong-Young
Department of World Cultures, PO Box 59 (Unioninkatu 38B), FIN-00014 University of Helsinki, Finland
+358 (0)9 191 22790; +358 (0)9 191 23107
jeong-young.kim@helsinki.fi
website
Korean*, English, Finnish, Chinese, Japanese
Second language acquisition, phonology, writing system, Korean language education
Meletis, Dimitrios
Institut für Sprachwissenschaft, Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, Merangasse 70, 8010 Graz, Austria
dimitrios.meletis@uni-graz.at
German*, English, Greek, Russian, French
Graphetics, naturalness/optimality of writing systems, punctuation, history of grapholinguistics
Neef, Martin
AWLL secretary; Member of editorial board of Written Language and Literacy
Technische Universität Braunschweig, Institut für Germanistik, Abteilung Linguistik und Mediävistik, Raum 116, Bienroder Weg 80, D-38106 Braunschweig, Germany
office: 0049-531-391-8635; fax: 0049-531-391-8638
Martin.Neef@tu-bs.de
website
German*, Dutch, English.
Graphematics, orthography, morphology, phonology
Neijt, Anneke
Founding AWLL president (2003-2016); First honorary lifetime member;
Member of editorial board of Written Language and Literacy
Department of Dutch Language and Culture, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen, Postbus 9103, NL 6500 HD Nijmegen, The Netherlands
+31-24-3615716 (direct); +31-24-3612048 (secr); +31-30-2292285 (home); fax +31-24-3611972
a.neijt@let.ru.nl
Overmann, Karenleigh A.
Center for Cognitive Archaeology, University of Colorado, 5925 Castlewood Ln, Colorado Springs, CO 80918, USA
(+1) 719-440-2653
Karenleigh.overmann@keble.oxon.org; koverman@uccs.edu
website
English*
Cognitive archaeology, Material Engagement Theory, numerical cognition and ethnomathematics, literacy and writing systems, cognitive and language evolution, cultural astronomy and timekeeping
Primus, Beatrice
General editor of Written Language and Literacy
Institut für Deutsche Sprache und Literatur, Albertus Magnus Platz, 50923 Köln, Deutschland
office: 0049-221-470-3434; fax: 0049-221-470-5107
primus@uni-koeln.de
website
Roberts, David
LLACAN (UMR 8135 du CNRS), 7 rue Guy Môquet, BP08 94801 Villejuif, France
rbrdvd@gmail.com
website
Ruge, Nikolaus
Universität Trier, FB II, Germanistik, 54289, Trier, Germany
+49-(0)651-201-3168; +49-(0)651-201-3909
ruge@uni-trier.de
German*, French
Spelling history; medieval "variance"
Sandra, Dominiek
Member of editorial board of Written Language and Literacy
Center for Psycholinguistics, University of Antwerp, Prinsstraat 13, 2000 Antwerpen, Belgium
+32-(0)3-265 42 47; +32-(0)3-265 42 59 (fax)
dominiek.sandra@ua.ac.be
website
Treiman, Rebecca
Member of editorial board of Written Language and Literacy
Department of Psychology, Campus Box 1125, Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis MO 63130
314-935-5326; 314-935-7588
rtreiman@wustl.edu
website
*English, French
Psycholinguistics of reading and spelling
Voeste, Anja
Prof. Dr. Anja Voeste, Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen, Institut für Germanistik, Historische Sprachwissenschaft/Sprachgeschichte des Deutschen, Otto-Behaghel-Str. 10 B, D-35394 Gießen
(tel) 0049-(0)641-99-29035; (fax) 0049-(0)641-99-29089
anja.voeste@germanistik.uni-giessen.de
website
German*
Spelling history

© 2017 Association for Written Language and Literacy (AWLL)